Baby Programs

Baby Storytime: Fall

This fall, the only storytime I’m regularly doing is our weekly Laptots storytime for kids birth-18 months. I’ve been getting small, but enthusiastic and participatory groups (the most families I had was six; another week I only had one!). Last week, I did a fall theme, using a number of ideas directly from Melissa at Mel’s Desk (here’s a link to her “Fall (Again)” storytime theme, which all the ideas I used are from). Everything flowed really well and this ended up being a great program!

Opening song: Hello Everybody (Carole Peterson Stephens)

Fingerplay: Here is a Beehive

Here is a beehive, but where are all the bees? (make fist)
They’re hidden inside, where no one can see!
Here they come, out of their hive:
One, two, three, four, five! (hold up each finger in turn)
Bzzz! (tickle your baby!)

Book: That Pup! (by Lindsay Barrett George)
I got the idea to use this adorable book from Mel’s Desk. It’s about a dog who unearths acorns hidden under all sorts of objects outside (a pumpkin, a log, a car, etc.), only to find out a squirrel had hidden them there for winter.

That Pup!

Felt Board: acorn hunt
Also inspired by Mel’s Desk, I made a felt board featuring some of the objects in the book and hid five acorns under them. I lifted up each object to see if we’d find an acorn hidden beneath it, emphasizing the color and name of each object (“Let’s see if there’s an acorn hidden beneath the blue car!”).

20131105-185213.jpg

Felt Board: Five Little Acorns (from Katie at Story Time Secrets via… Mel’s Desk)
I used the five felt acorns from the acorn hunt and the parents used their fingers to follow along with the rhyme. My squirrel puppet helped by eating each acorn in turn.

Song: Gray Squirrel
I used my squirrel puppet and the parents helped their kids wiggle at the “shake your bushy tail” parts.

Gray squirrel, gray squirrel, shake your bushy tail! (shake your “tail!”)
Gray squirrel, gray squirrel, shake your bushy tail! (shake your “tail!”)
Wrinkle up your little nose. (tap baby’s nose)
Crack a nut between your toes! (clap hands together)
Gray squirrel, gray squirrel, shake your bushy tail! (shake your “tail!”)

Song: When Animals Get Up In the Morning
I used my dog, cat and duck puppets with this song. Listen to the tune here.

When dogs get up in the morning, they always say “Good day!”
When dogs get up in the morning, they always say “Good day!”
They say, “Woof! Woof! Woof! Woof!” That is what they say.
They say, “Woof! Woof! Woof! Woof!” That is what they say.

Song: Bumping Up and Down in My Little Red Wagon
This is my favorite (new-to-me) song this fall. I just love it and the babies do, to. I do it like this.

Rhyme: I’m a Little Cuckoo Clock

Tick tock, tick tock. (with baby in your lap, rock from side to side)
I’m a little cuckoo clock!
Tick tock, tick tock.
I’m a little cuckoo clock!
Now I’m striking one o’clock:
Cuckoo! (lift baby up in the air)

Rhyme: Pease Porridge Hot
We all clapped to the rhythm as we read the rhyme together.

Pease porridge hot, pease porridge cold.
Pease porridge in the pot, nine days old.
Some like it hot. Some like it cold.
Some like it in the pot, nine days old.

Parent tip: This is a fun rhyme to chant when your child is playing with pots and pans in the kitchen. Try keeping the rhythm by tapping a wooden spoon on a pot. This will help your child start to hear the different sounds that make up the words in the rhyme, which is a skill they’ll need down the road when they’re learning how to read.

Closing song: If You’re Happy and You Know It

Leave a Reply

