Storytime

Terrific 2’s and 3’s Storytime: Farm

So, it’s amazing how fast I can pull a storytime together in a pinch. I’m sure that’s the case for most experienced storytime presenters, but I think back to when I started doing storytimes years ago and it took me forever to plan a single session. Two of my coworkers called out today, and I ended up filling in for our Terrific 2’s and 3’s storytime with less than an hour to prepare. It ended up being really fun, though! Right now I’m only doing baby storytimes, and when I get the opportunity to fill in for other ones I realize that I miss them!

Farm Storytime Plan
You can never go wrong with a farm-themed storytime.

Opening Song: If You’re Happy and You Know It

Song: When Animals Get Up in the Morning with puppets

Rhyme: 2 Little Blackbirds (extended version by Rob Reid)
2 little blackbirds, sitting on a hill. (hide fists, thumbs up, behind back)
One named Jack and one named Jill. (bring each fist out, one at a time)
Fly away Jack, fly away Jill. (fly one fist back, then the other)
Come back Jack, come back Jill. (bring each fist out, one at a time)
Additional verses: sitting on a cloud/quiet & loud; sitting in the snow/high & low.

Getting Giggles Farm Storytime: The Cow Loves Cookies by Karma Wilson

Book: The Cow Loves Cookies by Karma Wilson

Felt Board: Rainbow Chicks (This is one we’ve had at my library since before I started and I don’t have the source.)

Song: Old MacDonald Had a Farm with finger puppets

Rhyme: Here is a Beehive
Here is a beehive,  (make fist)
But where are all the bees?
They’re hidden inside,
Where no one can see.
Here they come,
Out of their hive!
1, 2, 3, 4, 5! (pull out each finger, one at a time)
Bzzzzzzz! (fly fingers around like bees, give a tickle)

Getting Giggles Farm Storytime: I Spy on the Farm by Edward Gibbs

Book: I Spy on the Farm by Edward Gibbs

Shakers:
Mama’s Sleeping (Tune: Skip to My Lou.)
I love this song and use it all the time with shakers, but I have no idea where I got it from. Do additional verses for grandpa, baby, etc.
Mama’s sleeping,             (sing quietly, shake shakers softly)
Don’t wake her up.
Mama’s sleeping,
Don’t wake her up.
Mama’s sleeping,
Don’t wake her up,
We must be very quiet!

Wake up mama,               (sing louder, shake shakers hard)
We want to play!
Wake up mama,
We want to play!
Wake up mama,
We want to play!
Let’s be very noisy!

Shake Your Sillies Out by Raffi

Closing Song: Hokey Pokey

Craft: farm scene with Ellison die cutouts

Leave a Reply

