Baby Programs

Baby Storytime: Trains

I tend to very loosely theme my baby storytimes because it gives me some focus when planning. That said, in this storytime I only did three things related to my train theme. I did, however, use the parachute for only the second time ever! I got it last summer and haven’t gotten the hang of it yet, but I was inspired by Lindsey’s post on Jbrary a couple weeks ago in which she described using the parachute in storytime. AND OH MY GOODNESS WE HAD SO MUCH FUN. The kids loved it.

Opening song: Hello Everybody, Yes Indeed (by Carole Stephens)

Rhyme: Here is a Beehive
Here is a beehive, but where are all the bees? (make a fist)
They’re hidden inside, where no one can see!
Here they come, out of their hive.
1… 2… 3… 4… 5! Bzzzz! (hold up each finger in turn, then fly fingers around and tickle child)

Freight Train

Book: Freight Train by Donald Crews
Another librarian at my library made an awesome flannel board for this, so I read the book and used the flannel board.

Rhyme: The Train Goes Up the Hill
The train goes up the hill. (creep hand up baby’s arm)
Choo choo! Choo choo! (gently tug baby’s ear)
It blows the whistle.
Toot toot! Toot toot! (gently tug baby’s other ear)
Then the train goes down the hill. (creep hand down baby’s other arm)

Song: Bumping Up and Down in My Little Red Wagon
Bumping up and down in my little red wagon. (bounce child on lap)
Bumping up and down in my little red wagon.
Bumping up and down in my little red wagon.
Won’t you be my darling? (hug child)

One wheel’s off and the axel’s broken. (rock from side to side)
One wheel’s off and the axel’s broken.
One wheel’s off and the axel’s broken.
Won’t you be my darling? (hug child)

Choo Choo

Book: Choo Choo by Petr Horáček
I have a set of this board book so each child can look at their own copy while I read it up front (some of the parents read out loud along with me). It has a fun cutout on the page where the train goes through a tunnel.

Parachute:

  • Peekaboo (we had the parchute on the floor, counted to three, lifted the chute and said peek-a-boo!)
  • If You’re Happy and You Know It, Shake the Chute (from Kendra at Read Sing Play)
  • The Itsy Bitsy Spider
  • Roly Poly (from Jbrary)

Song: The Wheels on the Bus
I stuck this in at the last minute because the kids were doing so well today I didn’t want storytime to end!

Rhyme: Our Hands Say Thank You
Our hands say thank you with a clap, clap, clap.
Our feet say thank you with a tap, tap, tap.
Clap, clap, clap. Tap, tap, tap.
We wake our hands and wave. Bye bye!

Leave a Reply

