Baby Programs

Baby Storytime: Bugs

I did this storytime today and only had two families come. (It’s our first nice day–60 degrees!–in months, so I’m sure everyone was outside enjoying the weather.) The two boys were pretty wiggly, so I cut it shorter than I normally would and made some changes on the fly, which I describe below. You can find the words to the rhymes on my Storytime Songs and Rhymes page.

Opening song: Hello Everybody, Yes Indeed (by Carole Stephens)

Rhyme: Here is a Beehive

I Love Bugs! by Philemon Sturges

Book: I Love Bugs! by Philemon Sturges
They were not impressed by this book (at the beginning, both boys were wandering around the room not paying attention, although they later settled down), so I skipped a bunch of pages in the middle.

Rhyme: Slowly, Slowly, Very Slowly

Rhyme: I’m a Little Bumblebee (written by Melissa at Mel’s Desk)
We have cute insect fingerpuppets I used with this.

Rhyme: This is Big, Big, Big (also written by Melissa at Mel’s Desk!)

The Very Hungry Caterpillar by Eric Carle

Big Book: The Very Hungry Caterpillar by Eric Carle
I don’t normally do two full-length books in baby storytime (I’ll often do one short picture book and then a board book, where every child can hold a copy), but I thought I’d try it today. The kids weren’t into sitting today, though, so I scrapped this one.

Scarves:

  • Peekaboo (put the scarves in front of the babies’ faces, count to 3 and… peek-a-boo!)
  • Shoo Fly (we used our scarves to shoo the flies away)
  • throwing our scarves in the air (count to three and throw!)
  • I had intended to do There’s a Bird in the Air (written by Erin at LibErin), but we were running out of steam and I skipped it.

Song: The Wheels on the Bus I stuck this in at the last minute because it was time for a song that everyone knows. Plus, let’s be real, I love this song (who doesn’t?) and often add it in at the last minute.

Rhyme: Our Hands Say Thank You

Leave a Reply

