Storytime · Toddler Programs

Terrific 2’s and 3’s Storytime: Mice!

We just started a new session of storytime and I’m doing our Monday “Terrific 2’s and 3’s” at 10am and I’m super excited about it! It has been years–literally–since I’ve done storytime for this age group (I’ve been doing baby, preschool and family storytimes). I love 2 and 3 year olds. They might even be my favorite age to do storytimes for (but don’t make me commit to that!). Yesterday was my first one and I started with only 2 kids; happily people kept trickling in and I ended up with 7 kids. That’s small for my library but we’ve had low attendance to programs over the last few months.

PROGRAM PLAN:

Opening song: If You’re Happy and You Know It

Song: When Animals Get Up in the Morning with puppets

Little Mouse

Book: The Little Mouse, the Red Ripe Strawberry and the Big Hungry Bear by Don and Audrey Wood

Activity: M Letter Puzzle
This idea I got from Storytime Katie. I made my own M letter puzzle and am hoping to keep this going, with a different letter each week, all session.

Felt Board: Little Mouse, Little Mouse

Rhyme: Hickory Dickory Dock
We have a felt board for this rhyme. First we said it together as I moved the mouse up and down the clock. Then I used Abby the Librarian’s idea and gave the kids cardstock mice in different colors. I repeated the rhyme, saying “The red mouse went up the clock” (repeating for each color) and the kids brought up their mice when their color was called.

Lunch

Book: Lunch by Denise Fleming
We have great props for this story, and since there were so few kids (and they had just done such a great job bringing up their mice), I handed out the props and the kids brought them up when the mouse ate their food in the story.

Shakers:

  • First we shake our shakers high and low, then fast and slow
  • Mama’s Sleeping
  • Shake It, Baby, Shake It (recorded song on the album Oh Baby! by Rainbow Songs)
  • Shake My Sillies Out (recorded version by Raffi)

Closing song: The Hokey Pokey

Craft: mouse stick puppets

HOW IT WENT:

It went pretty well! They were a very quiet group, but were engaged the whole time. (Ok, the whole time after the latecomers stopped trickling in. It was distracting for the kids at the beginning.) They all did a great job with the participation activities (Hickory Dickory Dock and Lunch)–not one child was afraid to come up when it was their turn. And they loved the shaker segment.

Leave a Reply

