Baby Programs

Baby Storytime: Cats

I had a great group for today’s baby storytime. 5 families came and all of the kids were in the 11-23 month age range. The kids sat and paid attention for a full 20 minutes! You can find the words to the rhymes and songs on my Storytime Songs and Rhymes page.

Opening Song: Hello Everybody, Yes Indeed (by Carole Stephens)

Rhyme: Here is a Beehive

Felt Board: Hey Diddle Diddle
We read the rhyme together twice while I added the felt pieces to the board. (And I accidently had the dish run away with the moon the first time through. Oops. At least it wasn’t as bad as the time I forgot where I was in the middle of Old MacDonald Had a Farm.)

Kitty's Cuddles

Book: Kitty’s Cuddles by Jane Cabrera

Song: Acka Backa Soda Cracker

Rhyme: I’m a Little Cuckoo Clock

Rhyme: Five Plump Peas
This is the first time I used this rhyme and it was a lot of fun!

What Will Fat Cat

Book: What Will Fat Cat Sit On? by Jan Thomas
I mentioned before starting that the humor in this book is over the babies’ heads (although it’s funny for parents!), but that it was a good book to incorporate animal sounds into. During the book, we all made the sounds for each animal.

Song: Old MacDonald Had a Farm with puppets

Scarves:

  • Peekaboo (We played a few rounds of peekaboo. Just count to three and peek!)
  • Rain is Falling Down
  • This is the Way We Wash Our… (Tune: Here We Go Round the Mulberry Bush)
    We “washed” different body parts with our scarves while singing “This is the way we wash our legs, wash our legs, wash our legs. This is the way we wash our legs on a cold and rainy morning!” (Usually I end with “so early in the morning,” but today’s weather lent itself to these words!)

Felt Board: Where is Little Cat?
I used my felt houses from my “Little Mouse, Little Mouse” set, but hid a cat instead. I used only the red, blue, green and yellow houses and we went over each color and counted the houses before looking for the hiding cat.

Closing Rhyme: Our Hands Say Thank You

Leave a Reply

