Preschool Programs · Storytime · Toddler Programs

Terrific 2’s and 3’s Storytime: Spring

It may not feel like spring yet, but we read some sunny springtime stories today! Overall this storytime was pretty good–I added some notes below about how specific things went over.

Opening song: If You’re Happy and You Know It

Song: Old MacDonald Had a Farm with puppets
People haven’t been getting to storytime on time this session (and as we all know, that can be distracting for you and the kids), so I extended my opening routine with a song that everyone knows, to do while latecomers continued to trickle in.

Rhyme: Here is a Beehive

Wind Blew

Book: The Wind Blew by Pat Hutchins
In this story, the wind blows all sorts of things in the air. We stopped on a few different pages to count how many things were in the air.

Activity: Spring Things
I like to include a participatory activity with this age group, but was coming up empty when I was planning for this theme. Then I saw this activity on Abby the Librarian’s blog! I pulled out some already-made felt umbrellas and kites and had the kids bring up their “spring thing” when I called for their item. Afterwards we counted how many umbrellas and how many kites we had.

Song: Five Frogs by Anna Moo

Fingerplay: 2 Little Blackbirds

Flip Flap Fly

Book: Flip, Flap Fly! by Phyllis Root
They had no interest in this book. I thought about skipping ahead, but it would have messed up the rhyme so I plowed ahead really quickly.

Scarves:

Duckie's Rainbow

Book: Duckie’s Rainbow by Frances Barry with scarves
I was thinking about using Duckie’s Rainbow, and then I saw on Abby the Librarian’s spring storytime plan (the same one with the Spring Things felt activity) that she did it with scarves. Sold! As each color comes up in the book, I had the kids bring me their scarf.

Closing song: Hokey Pokey

Craft: spring door hangars
The kids glued suns, kites, and birds to cardstock door hangars. Yay for die-cut machines!

Leave a Reply

