Storytime · Toddler Programs

Terrific 2’s and 3’s Storytime: Bugs

Normally it would be warm enough in April that bugs would be an appropriate theme. However, I felt a little silly doing butterflies and bees on a day we were having a wintry mix! During the hidden bugs felt board, when we found the ladybug, I think I muttered something about how they’d see real ladybugs in a few months. Nevertheless, I was pleased with how the program turned out.

Opening song: If You’re Happy and You Know It

Felt board: find the hidden bugs
I hid six different felt bugs (ladybug, caterpillar, bee, etc.) under the houses from my Little Mouse felt board set. We counted the houses, named the colors, and then talked about the different bugs we found.

Fingerplay: Here is a Beehive

Caterpillar

Book: The Very Hungry Caterpillar by Eric Carle (with felt board)
I asked who had read this book before and got a lot of blank stares. So either everyone was feeling shy today or I introduced a new generation to this classic. We have the Lakeshore Learning felt board set, and I handed out pieces of fruit to each child, for them to bring up when their fruit comes up in the book.

Song: Itsy Bitsy Spider
We also sang a verse about the Great Big Hairy Spider.

Book: I Love Bugs! by Emma Dodd
The kids were very wiggly at this point (and my storytime was running longer than I had planned), so I scrapped this book and added in a movement song instead.

Song: Jumping and Counting by Jim Gill
I hadn’t planned on this song, but it was just what this wiggly group needed. They loved the jumping. And the counting. And a lot of parents joined in, so it was a lot of fun.

Scarves (you’ll find all the rhymes here):

  1. Dance Your Scarves Up
  2. Take Your Scarf and Make it Into a Ball
  3. Bumblebee, Bumblebee

Butterfly Butterfly

Book: Butterfly, Butterfly by Peter Horacek (with scarves)
In this book, a little girl finds bugs of all different colors. As each color came up in the book, I had the children with scarves of that color bring their scarf up to me.

Closing song: Hokey Pokey

Craft: butterfly magnets

 

Leave a Reply

